top of page

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Korean Rice Bowl


I was nervous making anything that claims to have a Korean flare and feeding it to my husband. It's just like feeding me chicken wings and telling me they're like authentic Buffalo wings. Anyways, the recipe kept appearing in my Pinterest newsfeed and it did look delicious so I thought "just do it." And, it was such a hit that my husband took a picture of the meal and sent it to his mom. I think that is the best compliment I could get!

Ingredients:

For the ground beef or ground turkey:

  • 1/4 cup low sodium soy sauce

  • 2 teaspoons light brown sugar

  • 1 teaspoon sesame oil

  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes

  • cooking spray

  • 1 pound ground beef or turkey

  • 1/4 cup chopped yellow onion

  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed

  • 1 teaspoon fresh grated ginger

For the bowls:

  • 3 cups cooked brown or white rice

  • 1 small sliced cucumber, skin on

  • 2 tablespoons red pepper paste, or more if desired

  • 1/2 tablespoon sesame seeds, plus more for topping

  • 2 sliced scallions, white and green parts

Directions:

  1. Combine the soy sauce, 2 tablespoons water, brown sugar, sesame oil and red pepper flakes in a small bowl.

  2. Heat a large deep nonstick skillet over high heat, spray with oil and add the ground beef/turkey. Cook, breaking the meat up with a until cooked through (about 5 minutes).

  3. Add the onion, garlic and ginger and cook 1 minute.

  4. Pour the sauce over the beef/turkey, cover and simmer on low heat 10 minutes.

  5. To assemble the bowls, place rice in each bowl, top with cup beef, cucumbers, red pepper paste, sesame seeds and scallions. (Since we have a Korean store near us in addition to my Korean mother in law, we also added kimchi, pickled vegetables, and dried octopus. It was a delicious little Korean meal!)

Chris' rating: 4.5

bottom of page