top of page

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Mongolian Beef

In another one of my new cookbooks, 'The Gluten-Free Slow Cooker' by Hope Comerford, I came across a mongolian beef recipe. I admit that I LOVE Chinese food, but I feel less guilty cooking an Asian inspired meal at home since I know exactly what is going into the food and it is always more cost-effective. This meal should feed a family of four, but anyone that has ever lived with me knows I love leftovers (and a night off from cooking!).

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb flank steak, cut into 1/4 x 1 inch pieces

  • 16 oz frozen broccoli

  • 4 scallions, cut into 1 inch pieces

  • 1/4 cup brown sugar

  • 1/4 cup soy sauce

  • 1 tsp ginger

  • 1 tsp fresh minced garlic

  • 1/4 cup cornstarch

Directions:

  1. Spray your crockpot with non-stick cooking spray.

  2. Place the broccoli, steak, and scallions into the crockpot.

  3. In a small bowl, mix together the soy sauce, ginger, sugar, and garlic. Slowly stir in the corn starch. Pour the mixture over the steak and veggies. Mix well.

  4. Cook on LOW for 4 hours or cook on HIGH for 2 hours.

Chris' rating: 3.5/5. I liked the dish better than Chris did. He thought it was missing something. But, we both agreed that next time we should not use chopped broccoli since it pretty much turned to mush.

bottom of page