top of page

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Lamb Stew


Over Christmas I bought the book, "The Anti-Inflammatory Diet and Action Plans," by Dorothy Calimeris and Sondi Bruner. My first recipe that I tried was lamb stew and I think that is was a good start. It's a classic meal, and a nice winter, comfort food which reheats well. It actually seemed to have more flavor on the second day compared to the first day. This meal will feed 4-6 people easily. Chris and I got 6 meals out of it and we enjoyed it over a bed of rice, but you could also eat the stew over pasta.

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp EVOO

  • 1/2 cup flour (I used a gluten free flour.)

  • 1 tbsp paprika

  • 1 tsp salt

  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper

  • 2 lbs lamb stew meat

  • 1 onion

  • 3 garlic cloves

  • 4 carrots (cut into 2 inch pieces)

  • 4 cups of chicken broth

  • 1 bay leaf

  • 2 fresh rosemary sprigs

Directions:

  1. Add the EVOO to the slow cooker.

  2. In a large bowl, mix the flour, paprika, salt, and pepper. Add the lamb and coat with the mixture and transfer to the slow cooker.

  3. Cover the lamb with the rest of the ingredients.

  4. Cook on low for 8 hours.

  5. Remove and discard the bay leaf and rosemary before serving.

  6. Serve over your starch of choice and enjoy!

Chris' rating: 4/5. He thought it was missing something. We both agreed that it needed potatoes, but maybe it was the Irish in me! If you do add potatoes, I think that the sauce will also be thicker.


bottom of page