top of page

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Eggplant Pizza

Who doesn't LOVE pizza?! But for someone who tries to stay gluten-free, it is something that is VERY hard for me to give up. Also, being from Upstate NY originally, I have a hard time using self-control when I have the option to indulge in pizza!
I researched some alternatives and found this recipe which I fell less guilty about (and my gluten sensitive stomach did not hate me after eating this)! I found that 1 eggplant should work for a family of 4. Chris and I cooked 1 eggplant and half of it was left over.
Ingredients:
  • 1 large eggplant, sliced 1/2 - 1 inch thick

  • 24 oz jar tomato sauce

  • slices of provolone cheese, mozzarella works too

  • 3-4 oz fresh cherry tomatoes, sliced

  • 1/2 tsp himalayan salt

  • Optional Toppings:

  • Crushed Red Pepper

  • Basil (I prefer fresh but I ran out!)

  • Pepperoni

  • Italian seasoning

  • Spinach

Directions:
  1. Preheat your oven to 425 F.

  2. Sprinkle the Himalayan salt on the eggplants and let sit on a paper towel for about 10 minutes (this helps remove the water from the eggplant.)

  3. Grease the baking sheet with olive oil then arrange the sliced eggplants. Bake for 15-20 minutes.

  4. Remove the bake eggplant from the oven and turn your broiler on. Spread 1 tablespoon of tomato sauce over each eggplant round followed by one slice of provolone and any of the optional toppings.

  5. Put back in the oven and broil for 3-5 minutes. Make sure you keep a close look while the eggplant is under the broiler as they can burn really fast.

  6. Serve while still hot.

Chris' rating: 4/5. For someone who is not a fan of eggplant, he ate 6 pieces... I ate 2. So, I would say I may be turning him onto it!

bottom of page