top of page

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Korean Turnip Soup

I honestly had no idea that I liked turnips until my mother-in-law introduced me to turnip soup. This soup is a Korean recipe and I could not find the recipe anywhere online! The first time I was introduced to it, Chris brought home leftovers from his parents house. We both had a bowl and when he went back for more, it had 'somehow disappeared!' For once, I ate faster than him. You snooze, you lose, right? The bones make the broth so flavorful and how can you feel guilty eating a bunch of turnips?

Ingredients:

  • 3 turnips, cubed

  • short ribs or soup bones

  • 6 garlic cloves, minced

  • 2 tsp of beef broth

  • salt and pepper

  • cooked rice

Directions:

  1. Put the bones in a pan/large bowl filled with water overnight or for at least a couple hours. (This will extract the blood from the bones which will make the soup clear.)

  2. Move the bones to pan or Dutch oven. Add the garlic cloves and enough water to fill the pan or Dutch oven.

  3. Cook these ingredients on low about 3-4 hours on low to create the broth.

  4. Add the turnips and the beef broth.

  5. Cook for another 1/2 hour, or until the turnips are soft.

  6. Remove from heat and enjoy with cooked rice either in the soup, or as a side.

Chris' rating: 4/5.

​

bottom of page