top of page

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Taco Stuffed Peppers

I've been neglecting my blog over the holiday season and while honeymooning in Aruba. But now I am back and my dish was a hit! I found this recipe on Pinterest and tweaked it. It caught my attentions since I LOVE making stuffed peppers and I LOVE tacos. It's simple and is a great meal for a cold night.

Ingredients

  • 6 large bell peppers, any color

  • 1 lb. lean ground beef

  • 1 (1 1/4 oz) package taco seasoning mix

  • 3/4 - 1 cup of cooked rice

  • 1 (16 oz) can diced tomatoes (I used a can of Ro-tel).

  • 1/2 cup onion, chopped

  • Handful of fresh, chopped cilantro

  • 3/4 - 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese, divided

  • 1 avocado, sliced

  • Sour cream

  • Lime wedges and hot sauce for serving

Instructions

  1. Bring a large pot of water to a rapid boil. In the meanwhile, cut off tops from the bell peppers; discard seeds and stem.

  2. Cook the whole bell peppers, uncovered in the boiling water for about 3-5 minutes; invert and drain well. While the peppers are boiling, chop onion.

  3. In a large sauté pan, brown ground beef with onion over medium-high heat. (Drain excess fat if there's any.) Once the beef loses the pink color, stir in diced tomatoes (or Ro-tel), taco seasoning mix, cilantro, and cooked rice. Mix well and simmer for 5 minutes. Then stir in 1/2 cup cheese until blend. Remove from heat.

  4. Now preheat oven to 350°F. Stuff each pepper with meat mixture. Place stuffed peppers in a baking dish lined with parchment paper or foil/ or put about 1/4 inch of water at the bottom so the peppers do not stick. Bake for 30 minutes.

  5. Once the peppers are done, immediately sprinkle the rest of the cheese on top and a spoonful of sour cream. (It will melt quickly). Top with avocado slices and hot sauce. Serve with lime wedges. Enjoy!

Chris' rating: 4.5/5. His words on this were "Mmmmmm..... GOOD..... Mmmmmm.... 4.5." So, I would say that I think I did pretty good!

bottom of page