top of page

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Weight Watchers Slow-Cooker Creole Jambalaya

For my wedding shower, my Aunt Jay gave me a weight watchers cookbook (not because she was giving me a hint... but, they have healthy and great alternatives to delicious recipes!) I have always like Jumbalaya but never made it at home so I figured I would give this a go. But, I will say that it was delicious the first day and does not taste as good as leftovers. Who likes leftover, re-heated shrimp anyways? I do recommend that you make the appropriate amount for your family or have guests over for dinner since this will serve 8 people.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup chopped onion

  • 1 cup chopped green onion

  • 1 cup chopped celery

  • 3 cloves of chopped garlic

  • 1 (28 oz) can undrained diced tomatoes

  • 2 cups of fully cooked, diced smoked sausage

  • 1/2 tsp parsley flakes

  • 1/4 tsp dried thyme

  • 1/2 tsp salt

  • 1/4 tsp red pepper sauce (I had Sriracha in the house so I used that.)

  • 3/4 lb uncooked, deveined medium shrimp (thawed)

  • 4 cups of hot cooked rice

​Directions:

  1. Mix all ingredients except for the rice and shrimp in the slow-cooker. Cover and cook on low for 7-8 hours or until your veggies are tender.

  2. Stir in shrimp. Cover and cook an additional 30 minutes until the shrimp are pink and firm.

  3. Serve with rice.

Chris had no complaints about this meal. He gave it a strong 4/5.

bottom of page